NTWAB Spring 2016 Newsletter

First and foremost, some introductions are in order. During our bi-annual meeting during the week of the 142nd Kentucky Derby, myself and Greg Hall had the honor of being elected to succeed Tom Pedulla and Mike Kane in the positions of president and vice president, respectively, of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters Association.

MJC to Honor Team Pharaoh

The Maryland Jockey Club will honor Zayat Stables, Bob Baffert and Victor Espinoza with the Preakness Special Award of Merit at the Alibi Breakfast at Pimlico on Thursday of Preakness week.

NTWAB Semi-Annual Meeting

The NTWAB Spring meeting will be held Wednesday, May 4 at the Churchill Downs Media Center, and several items of business will be on the agenda.

Fortus, West Among Ryan Book Award Finalists

Among the finalists for the 2015 Dr. Tony Ryan Book Award are NTWAB members Bob Fortus and Gary West, authors of "Ride to Win - An Inside Look at the Jockey’s Craft".

NTWAB Winter 2016 Newsletter

I am proud to say that the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters remains the strong, well-respected voice it has always been in the racing industry.

Horse of the Year: Voters Unite for American Pharoah

American Pharoah was unanimously named Horse of the Year at the Eclipse Awards Ceremony at Gulfstream Park. Here's a rundown of the evening's highlights and all the winners at the 45th annual ceremony.

Geroux, Houghton Named for New Awards

The Jockeys’ Guild and JockeyTalk360.com announced today that Florent Geroux won The Most Improved Rider Award and T. D. Houghton was named The Comeback Rider of The Year. It was the inaugural year for both awards.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   Scroll to top