Rippey Award Goes to Racing Dudes’ Spector

Michael Spector, a freelance writer who grew up going to race tracks with his father, is the winner of the fourth annual Ron Rippey Award for Handicapping Media for his “2017 Kentucky Derby Pace Thesis” that appeared on ahead of this year’s Kentucky Derby Presented by Yum! Brands.

Rippey Handicapping Award Accepting Entries

The fourth annual Ron Rippey Handicapping Media Award is open for entries. will present the winner on Thursday, Nov. 2, at the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters dinner at The Brigantine overlooking Del Mar.

NTWAB Names Annual Awards Recipients

Randy Moss, Rick Porter, Matt Hegarty and the Winners Foundation will be honored by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters at the association's 58th annual Awards Dinner on Nov. 2 at the Brigantine Seafood & Oyster Bar in Del Mar, Caliifornia.

NTWAB Awards Nominations Released

National Turf Writers and Broadcasters has released candidates for its four major awards to be presented during the 2017 Breeders' Cup week. Recipients of the annual awards will be announced following polling of eligible NTWAB members.

McNamara, Privman Win Joe Hirsch Memorial Writing Contest

Jay Privman of The Daily Racing Form and Ed McNamara of Newsday, both members of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters, earned top honors in the New York Racing Association's eighth annual Joe Hirsch Memorial Writing Contest.

David F. Woods Memorial Award to Joe Clancy

Eclipse-award winning writer and NTWAB member Joe Clancy will be awarded the David F. Woods Memorial Award for excellence in journalism on Thursday, May 18 at the Alibi Breakfast at Pimlico Race Course.

Proposed NTWAB Bylaw Amendments

Bylaw amendments will be presented for a vote at the NTWAB Spring Meeting. Please click through to the story for details.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   Scroll to top