Shirley Day Smith, 99, Was Six-Decade NYRA Press Aide

Shirley Day Smith, recipient of the 2001 Joe Palmer award from the National Turf Writers Association, died on Sept. 20 at age 99 after a brief illness. She is said to have helped more people than anyone in the history of horse racing.

Smith, Brothers, Gluckson, McGee 2018 NTWAB Award Winners

Hall of Fame jockey Mike Smith, who rode Triple Crown winner Justify, will be honored along with Donna Barton Brothers, Jim Gluckson and Marty McGee during the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters 59th annual Awards Dinner in Louisville on Oct. 31. The dinner is open by invitation to members and guests of NTWAB as well as non-members.

Nominations for NTWAB Annual Awards Announced

National Turf Writers and Broadcasters released nominations for its annual awards, and a vote by membership will determine the outcome. The Annual Awards Dinner will be held in Louisville on Oct. 31, 2018.

Frakes, Steffanus, Rokos Win Media Eclipse Awards for Journalism Work

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters (NTWAB) today announced the Media Eclipse Award winners in the Feature Commentary and News Enterprise Writing categories and the Photography category:  Jason Frakes and Denise Steffanus and Nancy Rokos. Frakes and Steffanus are both NTWAB members.

NTWAB Spring Newsletter

Fellow Turf writers, I hope this note finds you all well and recovering from the excitement and grind of this year’s Triple Crown season.

NTWAB Members Ehalt, Law Win Joe Hirsch Memorial Writing Awards

Tom Law of ST Publishing and Bob Ehalt, writing for Thoroughbred Racing Commentary, both members of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters, earned top honors in the New York Racing Association's ninth annual Joe Hirsch Memorial Writing Contest.

Nack, Graves Left Lasting Marks on Racing Coverage

The world of turf writing has lost two important members of its community this year, Bill Nack and Matt Graves. We pause in the midst of coverage of the Triple Crown races and reflect on their lives.

Law Presented David F. Woods Memorial Award

Tom Law, the recently-elected president of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters, was presented the David F. Woods Memorial Award for excellence in journalism today at the annual Alibi Breakfast at Pimlico Race Course.

Kentucky Derby Media Guide Available

NTWAB has compiled a Kentucky Derby Media Guide. Members are encouraged to print it before arriving in Louisville to cover the Kentucky Derby. Please click the headline to gain access.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   Scroll to top