The Celebration of Bill's Life

Dr. Tom Tobin has announced “The Celebration of Bill’s Life” in memory of Bill Mooney scheduled for 5:30-8:30 p.m. ET on Saturday, Feb. 18th at The Thoroughbred Club of America, 3555 Rice Road in Lexington. Colleagues are encouraged to share their memories of Bill at the event.

'A Moment of Noise'

William P. (Bill) Mooney, the award-winning turf writer who ranked among Thoroughbred racing’s premier historians of any generation, died peacefully at his Lexington home Jan. 28 after a devastating two-year battle with renal cell carcinoma. He was 69.

Taylor Counters Martin Remarks

In the wake of Perry Martin's demeaning comments on Jan. 21 about the turf media while accepting Horse of the Year honors on behalf of connections of California Chrome, Frank Taylor of Taylor Made Farm reached out to NTWAB.

Eclipse Awards for Writing Go to Scheinman, Voss

John Scheinman is the winner of the 2016 Media Eclipse Award for Writing in the Feature/Commentary category, and Natalie Voss won the 2016 Media Eclipse Award for Writing in the News/Enterprise category.

Daily Racing Form Takes Multi-Media Eclipse Award

Daily Racing Form has won the 2016 Media Eclipse Award in the Audio/Multi-Media and Internet category for “Time Bandits,” which profiled the remarkable longevity of Hall of Fame Jockeys Alex Solis, Mike Smith and Gary Stevens.

Kentucky Senate, City of Lexington Honor Mooney

Bill Mooney, the award-winning turf writer who ranks among Thoroughbred racing’s premier historians of any generation, has been recognized by Lexington Mayor Jim Gray and the Kentucky Senate for his contributions to the horse industry and courage in the face of a two-year battle with cancer.

Dear Bill

We present a series of tributes to our colleague Bill Mooney, a truly inspirational figure in our ranks, from friends and fellow members of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters.

NTWAB Annual Dinner Photos

Courtesy of the Turf Publicists of America: Dave Johnson, Bill Mooney and Hank Wesch.

By Loren Hebel-Osborne: Dave Johnson with Mike Farrell, Hank Wesch with Kevin Modesti, Rene Douglas with Claire Novak, Russel Baze agent Ray Harris with Jay Privman


Hill Earns Rippey Award for Profile of Derby Bettor 'Dink'

David Hill took his talents to Nevada for this year’s Kentucky Derby. His "How a Las Vegas Sports Betting Legend Spends Horse Racing’s Biggest Weekend" profile of professional gambler Alan "Dink" Denkenson won the third annual Ron Rippey Award for Handicapping Media. Two entries, both written by Ed McNamara, received honorable mentions.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7   Scroll to top