Eclipse Award Horse of the Year Finalists: Bricks and Mortar, Maximum Security, Mitole

Posted Jan. 4, 2020

The 2019 Horse of the Year finalists are Bricks and Mortar, Maximum Security, and Mitole. They lead all categories for the 2019 Eclipse Awards named today by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form (DRF) and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB).

Winners in 17 horse and human categories will be announced at the 49th annual Eclipse Awards dinner and ceremony, presented by DRF, Breeders’ Cup and The Stronach Group on Thursday evening, Jan. 23, at Gulfstream Park Racing & Casino in Hallandale Beach, Fla.

Of the 254 eligible voters representing the NTRA, the NTWAB, and Daily Racing Form, 241 (94.88%) took part in this year’s voting. Finalists were determined in each category by voters’ top three selections, using a 10-5-1 point basis. Eclipse Award winners are determined solely by first-place votes.

The 2019 Eclipse Award finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Horse of the Year:        Bricks and Mortar, Maximum Security, Mitole

Two-Year-Old Male:      Maxfield, Storm the Court, Structor

Two-Year-Old Filly:       Bast, British Idiom, Sharing

Three-Year-Old Male:   Code of Honor, Maximum Security, Omaha Beach

Three-Year-Old Filly:    Covfefe, Guarana, Serengeti Empress

Older Dirt Male:            McKinzie, Mitole, Vino Rosso

Older Dirt Female:        Blue Prize (ARG), Elate, Midnight Bisou

Male Sprinter:               Imperial Hint, Mitole, World of Trouble

Female Sprinter:           Belvoir Bay (GB), Come Dancing, Covfefe

Male Turf Horse:           Bricks and Mortar, Mo Forza, World of Trouble

Female Turf Horse:      Got Stormy, Sistercharlie (IRE), Uni (GB)

Steeplechase Horse:    Brain Power (IRE), Scorpiancer (IRE), Winston C (IRE)

Owner:                        Gary Barber, Peter Brant, Klaravich Stables, Inc. and
                                       William H. Lawrence
Breeder:                       Calumet Farm, Godolphin, George Strawbridge Jr.

Trainer:                         Steve Asmussen, Chad Brown, Brad Cox

Jockey:                         Javier Castellano, Irad Ortiz, Jr., Jose Ortiz

Apprentice Jockey:     Julio Correa, Angel Diaz, Kazushi Kimura    

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Scott Coles will receive the Eclipse Award as the 2019 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Eclipse Awards voting is conducted by NTWAB, NTRA and DRF. The Eclipse Awards ceremony is produced by NTRA and presented by the Breeders’ Cup, DRF and The Stronach Group.

Eclipse Awards tickets are available for $425 each, or $4,000 for a table of 10. Additional details can be found on the NTRA website at or by contacting Casey Hamilton at

The black-tie optional Eclipse Awards is part of a full week of events that will culminate with the fourth running of the $3 million Pegasus World Cup, on Jan. 25. Separate tickets to the Pegasus World Cup are available on the Gulfstream Park website at

Tickets to the Eclipse Awards also include an invitation to a party on Friday night, Jan. 24, in the Gulfstream Park walking ring on the eve of the Pegasus.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

Edited NTRA release