Photo Essay: Our 60th Annual Awards Dinner

Posted Nov. 5, 2019

On Oct. 30, NTWAB celebrated its 60th Annual Awards Dinner at The World Famous Derby Restaurant in Arcadia, CA. The Derby, once co-owned by George "The Iceman" Woolf, is brimming with Thoroughbred racing history and did a great job hosting our cocktail hour, dinner and awards program.

Photos by Skip Dickstein

NTWAB President Tom Law (right) and Andy Belfiore (left) of the New York THA present the Joe Palmer Award for meritorious service to racing to the family of the late Rick Violette, Chris Violette and sister Patti Taylor.


Caton Bredar accepts the Jim McKay Award for career excellence in broadcasting.


Tim Wilkin won the Walter Haight Award for career excellence in Turf writing. He was introduced by Jack Knowlton (L) of Sackatoga Stable fame.


Joy Scott (with silver tray) was honored with the Bill Mooney Award for displaying courage in the face of tremendous adversity. Julie Krone (L) introduced her. Standing next to Joy is her son, Jesse Sanchez.

After a recent back surgery, D. Wayne Lukas, winner of the Mr. Fitz Award for typifying the spirit of racing, couldn't attend. We agreed on a presentation at the 2020 dinner in Lexington and look forward to seeing him.

Jim Gluckson and John Cherwa of the Los Angeles Times, who won the Bill Leggett Breeders’ Cup Writing Award.

Jim Gluckson and Jay Privman. Privman was presented with the Joe Hirsch Breeders’ Cup Writing Award.


Scott Hazelton honored us with his excellent service as emcee of our 60th Annual Awards Dinner.


Last but not least, Loren Hebel-Osborne, who's shown here with old friend Marty McGee, organized another great Awards Dinner!

Compiled by Dick Downey