47th Annual Eclipse Award Finalists Named

Posted Jan. 5, 2018

The finalists for the 47th Annual Eclipse Awards were announced today. Winners will be announced at the Eclipse Awards Dinner on Jan. 25 at Gulfstream Park. Awards are voted by the National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA), Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB).

Thoroughbred racing’s annual awards dinner features presentations for Horse of the Year, divisional champions, and outstanding horsemen and media.


Apprentice Jockey: Katie Clawson, Hector Diaz, Evin Roman

Steeplechase horse: All the Way Jose, Mr. Hot Stuff, Scorpiancer

2-year-old male: Bolt d’Oro, Good Magic, Solomini

2-year-old filly: Caledonia Road, Moonshine Memories, Rushing Fall

3-year-old male: Always Dreaming, Battle of Midway, West Coast

3-year-old filly: Abel Tasman, Elate, Unique Bella

Older dirt male: Arrogate, Collected, Gun Runner

Older dirt female:  Forever Unbridled, Songbird, Stellar Wind

Male sprinter: Imperial Hint, Mind Your Biscuits, Roy H

Female sprinter: Bar of Gold, Paulassilverlining, Unique Bella

Male turf horse: Beach Patrol, Talismanic (GB), World Approval

Female turf horse: Lady Eli, Off Limits (IRE), Wuheida (GB)

Owner: Owner: Godolphin Racing LLC, Juddmonte Farms Inc., Winchell Thoroughbreds & Three Chimneys Farm

Breeder: Besilu Stables, Clearsky Farms, WinStar Farm

Jockey: Javier Castellano, Jose Ortiz, Mike Smith

Trainer: Steven M. Asmussen, Bob Baffert, Chad Brown

Horse of the Year: Arrogate, Gun Runner, World Approval

In addition to honoring the 17 winners in the horse and human categories, Frank Stronach, Thoroughbred owner, breeder and racetrack owner, will receive the Eclipse Award of Merit for a lifetime of achievement in the Thoroughbred industry. Ray Arsenault will receive an Eclipse Award as the 2017 Horseplayer of the Year. Members of the media will be honored for outstanding coverage in six categories.

Tickets to The Eclipse Awards ceremony are on sale for $425 each or $4,000 for a table of 10.  For reservations, please contact Casey Hamilton of the NTRA at chamilton@ntra.com, or call (859) 422-2627. For more information on The Eclipse Awards, visit https://www.ntra.com/eclipse-awards/.

The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies. The Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements in North America have earned them the title of Champion in their respective categories. Those awards are voted by NTRA, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters (NTWAB). Eclipse Awards also are given to recognize members of the media for outstanding coverage of Thoroughbred racing.

By Dick Downey