Dear Bill

We present a series of tributes to our colleague Bill Mooney, a truly inspirational figure in our ranks, from friends and fellow members of the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters.

NTWAB Annual Dinner Photos

Courtesy of the Turf Publicists of America: Dave Johnson, Bill Mooney and Hank Wesch.

By Loren Hebel-Osborne: Dave Johnson with Mike Farrell, Hank Wesch with Kevin Modesti, Rene Douglas with Claire Novak, Russel Baze agent Ray Harris with Jay Privman


Hill Earns Rippey Award for Profile of Derby Bettor 'Dink'

David Hill took his talents to Nevada for this year’s Kentucky Derby. His "How a Las Vegas Sports Betting Legend Spends Horse Racing’s Biggest Weekend" profile of professional gambler Alan "Dink" Denkenson won the third annual Ron Rippey Award for Handicapping Media. Two entries, both written by Ed McNamara, received honorable mentions.

2016 Guidelines for Media Eclipse Awards

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association, in conjunction with Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers And Broadcasters released the guidelines for the 2016 Media Eclipse Awards on Oct. 10.

Just A Click Away

The National Turf Writers and Broadcasters Awards Dinner, our annual gala, features cocktail hour, the best silent auction in the sport, dinner and stars of the Thoroughbred industry. All at beautiful Altadena Town and Country Club, just minutes from Santa Anita. Click here for tickets to the 57th Annual Awards Dinner via online access or here to send your order by mail.

NTWAB Announces Annual Awards Winners

Longtime broadcaster Dave Johnson and Hall of Fame jockey Russell Baze are among the Thoroughbred industry standouts who will be honored by the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters at the association's 57th annual Awards Dinner on Nov. 2 at Altadena Town & County Club in Altadena, California.  Scott Hazelton of TVG will emcee the dinner.

Breeders' Cup Opens Writing Awards

The Breeders’ Cup will present two Writing Awards to honor excellence in coverage of the 2015 Breeders’ Cup World Championships.

DRF Initiates Hong Kong Coverage

On August 30, Daily Racing Form and Hong Kong Jockey Club jointly announced a strategic media partnership to disseminate HKJC racing information to the North American racing market.

Awards Dinner: Save the Date

The NTWAB Awards Dinner will be held during Breeders' Cup week on Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2016 at Altadina Town and Country Club. It's a great venue not too far from Santa Anita. More information will follow. Save the date!

Candidates Named for NTWAB Awards

The National Turf Writers and Broadcasters released candidates for its major 2016 awards to be presented Breeders' Cup week.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10   Scroll to top